Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Senior Member Dartguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    117

    Default Is this possible?

    I am about to get a new computer. Can I use my laptop recovery CD to install XP on my new computer? If not, where can I find XP cheap?


    Thanks

  2. #2
    Melkus RS 1000 Henry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Vienna[Austria]
    Posts
    2,855

    Default

    you can use it, but if you want to update XP after the pc change, MS will nag.
    Dynamo Dresden vs. Manchester City 0:0; Dynamo Dresden vs. West Ham United 3:0

  3. #3
    GTLDK Pelle_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kastrup
    Posts
    3,412

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dartguy View Post
    where can I find XP cheap?
    In my opinion it would be wrong to throw XP on a new PC. Your laptop is probably a x32 & your new PC will probably be able to run x64 if this is a desktop PC you bought.
    XP is by being an old boy, approaching the 10 years & there has been much new in Vista...but why not save money for Windows 7 coming into the stores and run a Windows 7 Beta for free now
    Altbierbude Laptimes

  4. #4
    Old Timer
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Hello.

    I Don't believe that you can use your recover dvd from your old labtop, because they normal zip encrypt the dvd so you can't retrieve the xp from the dvd. i had a dell and they did that. So i had to get a new xp on a dvd.


    MVH Tonny

  5. #5
    Senior Member Dartguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    117

    Default

    Thanks guys,

    I may try Win7 for a while and see how it works.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
    Posts
    208

    Default

    Let us know.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Dartguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    117

    Default

    I sure will,

    I am excited about upgrading. Now I'll be able to race with more than 15 FPS or so.

    I should be a whole new ballgame!

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
    Posts
    208

    Default

    jeez, 15 fps is unplayable in tighter turns. Don't know how you do it!

    i have been suffering from my fps dropping in game, and have to suffer through to the end often times, and drop to the 9 to 17 fps window, and in tight turns, is very hard. Near impossible in twitchy type cars.

  9. #9
    GTLDK Pelle_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kastrup
    Posts
    3,412

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dartguy View Post
    I am excited about upgrading.
    Let us hear what things you intend to put together...CPU, Graphics & more
    Altbierbude Laptimes

  10. #10
    Senior Member Dartguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    117

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pelle_B View Post
    Let us hear what things you intend to put together...CPU, Graphics & more
    Here is a thread at NoGrip that I started to gain a little expertise.

    http://www.nogripracing.com/forum/sh...d.php?t=133559

    I will probably get a Quad-core, ATI 4850, other than that, the rest doesn't really matter to me.


    I should mention: My old computer was destroyed by a power surge and my insurance company is giving me $690 to replace it. It was built in about 2002, and wasn't great even then. As I am pretty broke at the moment, my budget will be $700.

    Any suggestions will be appreciated.
    Last edited by Dartguy; 20-03-09 at 18:57.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •